top of page

What does Boston look like in the summer?



Happy summer break! I hope everyone is enjoying the sunshine and the occasional spring showers! I'm currently doing my first Co-op at Dana Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, and I've been loving the morning walk to work (another blog about my specific Co-op experience will be coming soon, so stay tuned)! Summer in my hometown in Southern California, is relatively dry and I tend to stay indoors because of the extreme heat waves. Here in Boston, however, I try my best to bask in the sun as often as I can!


Boston in the summer is absolutely stunning, to say the least. Trees are bright green, tulips are blooming, and cherry blossoms give a beautiful pop of color on Northeastern's campus. Fun fact, Northeastern University is recognized as an arboretum. According to News@Northeastern, 1,400 trees shade the walkways between buildings and surround the open green spaces. On a sunny day, you'll walk past students reading in hammocks, having picnics, or listening to music on Centennial Common, a popular student gathering spot which features an extensive lawn and colorful chairs.


On weekends, I love exploring the outdoors such as going to Haymarket for fresh fruit. Haymarket is an outdoor greenmarket specializing in fruits & vegetables for very reasonable prices, especially for students who are on a budget. Summer fruits like berries and apples have been essentials whenever I visit, and I've never been disappointed with the freshness and quality of their produce!

A close proximity to Haymarket, Boston Public Garden is filled with red and yellow tulips and swan boats! I normally pass by the garden on my walk back from Haymarket and I can't stop but admire and take a couple snapshots of what I call a vibrant work of art.


One aspect of Boston that surprised me this summer was the night life! While not as busy as New York, restaurants and pubs are filled with laughter and music––especially on Friday nights. Sweet Cheeks Q, Time Out Market, and Citizen Public House, all located in Fenway, are some of the many popular restaurants near campus.


As much as I love summer in Boston, beware of pollen allergies and the humidity! Nevertheless, don't miss out the opportunities to enjoy both indoor and outdoor activities that Boston has to offer!


bottom of page