top of page

Food Review: Lavine Family Dining Pavilion

If you asked me what brings me happiness and joy, I'll simply reply: the 4 Fs. Family, friends, fitness, and most importantly, food! If you know me, you'll know that I'm a big foodie––I love baking, cooking, trying out new cuisines, and challenging my palate to unique flavors. So when I found out that I would be spending 4 months working at Dana Farber, I had to check out their dining options.


I had high hopes, especially because I had heard that Dana Farber had a great reputation for their extensive menu and delicious meals. Some places to eat near Dana Farber include Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, McDonalds for a quick grab-and-go snack, or PokeWorks and Bon Me for a more filling meal. However, for individuals who don't have enough time, Dana Farber has a cafeteria in the Yawkey Center for Cancer Care called the Lavine Family Dining Pavilion.


I normally pack my own lunch, but on days when I don't have the time I'll stop by the cafeteria and try out their pizzas or entrees. Entrees vary daily with stir fries, pastas, wings, taco salads, while pizzas are generally consistent with options including cheese, pepperoni, or vegetable. They also offer a salad bar, soup, and prepackaged wraps and sandwiches.


I love their pizzas and 1 slice usually fills me up for the rest of my shift. I recommend their chicken and broccoli pizza, but their cheese and pepperoni are both classic and reliable options. I've also tried a variety of their hot entree options, but I always come back for their salmon on Fridays. Pictured below is tuscan salmon with sun-dried tomato and basil cream sauce with a side of potato wedges, pesto farro salad, and asparagus. The salmon was perfectly cooked and the tomato cream sauce wasn't overly heavy.

Another popular option that I see many healthcare workers going for is the salad bar. The salad bar offers different types of greens for the base, along with proteins such as chicken, tofu, and eggs, and your choice of dressing. I appreciate that while there are options that are very filling such as wings, chicken, and pizza, you can always opt for lighter meals like a salad or soup. I find that eating a large meal for lunch makes me lethargic for the rest of my shift. But if you do feel tired, you can always rely on the coffee and tea station to jolt you awake! Overall, Dana Farber's dining offers a large range of meals for all their patients and healthcare workers and are mindful of individuals with dietary restrictions!






bottom of page