top of page

How I dealt with burnout and lack of motivation during COVID-19



During these unprecedented times...


We've all heard this phrase more than we'd like to. We all wish we can go back to the precedented times instead.


When the pandemic first went rampant, I had to hastily fly back to California to finish my spring semester of freshman year online. Not only were professors working diligently to adapt to this new mode of teaching, but students all over the world were adjusting to time differences and online education. While I was home during the rest of my spring semester in 2020, I often lacked motivation to explore other areas of interest and struggled to wake up at 5am for my 8am class. I was skeptical when finding a community online because of the awkward silence and the anxiety of possibly talking over another student.


So when Northeastern introduced NUFlex, a model designed for students to be able to learn both in the classroom or remotely through technology, and announced that they planned on opening its campus during the fall semester of 2020, I was hopeful that I would get a glimpse of normalcy. Through NUFlex, I was able to attend class both at home in Los Angeles and in my apartment in Boston. While the experience of learning in a campus and home environment was drastically different, there was one thing in common: burnout.


Regardless of the study environment, I constantly found myself overwhelmed, confused, and unmotivated––and I'm sure students all over the world can relate as well! I realized having a strong mindset and adapting to a sustainable routine was essential for me to push through the school year.


The first tip is to get out of the house! Because we're staring at our screens for a huge chunk of our day, it's very important that we soak in some sun throughout the day. During my breaks I either went on hikes or walked to my nearest grocery store. I tried to get in as many steps as possible when the weather was nice outside to clear my mind when I felt suffocated indoors.


The second tip is to set and maintain a routine. Setting an alarm to wake up every morning and making sure you save time to focus on your well-being can prevent you from constantly feeling anxious about classes. Some of my hobbies I incorporated into my routine were baking and working out. I was able to experiment in the kitchen a lot more often and learn new recipes to take back to Boston!


The last tip is having a positive mindset. Seize this opportunity for self growth, share laughter, and appreciate aspects of life we've been taking for granted. Rather than focusing on problems outside of your control, try to focus on what you can control. As much as COVID-19 has devastated the lives of many, we also have so much to gain out of this experience, some including unleashing a revolution in medicine, recognizing the importance of family and health, and cherishing the outdoors.


There's certainly hope that we'll go back to what we once perceived as the norm––the precedented times. This won't come naturally, though. With everyone adhering to COVID-19 guidelines, we'll surely be able to see each other face to face once again next school year! In the meantime, I hope everyone stays safe, healthy, and happy during these difficult times. Don’t be afraid to talk about your struggles to family or friends because you’re not alone!




bottom of page